My Thoughts!

04.03.24 So, I've been playing MysMes in 2024 (Jaehee Kang's route; good end)

So, bit of context: When MysMes first released and exploded in popularity, I didn't have a phone, and by the time I got one I didn't really care to play some otome game. Technically speaking, this isn't my first time playing MysMes. I attempted the game twice two years ago, and failed the first time after not getting enough hearts, and the second time for missing too many chats. So here I am now, in 2024, bored out of my mind doing a gap year-- after finishing my first ever full playthrough of the game. Yay!

I did Jaehee's route. Obviously. I'd heard before that technically you don't end up dating-dating Jaehee, so I knew I'd be in the friend zone but gaaaaaah. I already found Zen kind of annoying, with his incessant flirting and constant whining--and now I have to set up my girl with him? Infuriating. It makes Jaehee happy though so I guess that's a positive ;-;.

Jaehee, btw, is super sweet. She has a sad backstory and her current life sucks too. She's working for some asshat (although I do like Jumin and I am excited to do his route. I will find it hard not to side with Jaehee.) and being forced to do shit that well out of her paygrade, and the only solace she has is 'at least I'm getting paid well' :(((((. Jumin even forces her to change the way she dresses, giving her even less autonomy over her body, and a worse sense of self. Like. There's a phone call where she giggles a bit and is like 'I cant remember the last time I laughed this hard' MY BABYGIRL ILYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY :(((((((((((((.

I do think it's weird that the route antagonises another romanceable character though. Like, especially considering that it's recommended to do the casual stories first, are we still expected to simp for Jumin after this? I get that he has a tragic backstory (some of which is implied in this route, some of which I figured through spoilers), but wow. Y'all want me to date this man???

Also, I really hope Jaehee quits as an assistant in other routes too, and not just this one. I doubt she'll be very happy in Zen's route, but maybe everyone else's?

As for other characters:

- Yoosung is the one who's route I'm planning on doing next, hopefully with a good ending? I'm really hoping they don’t go the incest route, since there were some worrying dialogue options regarding him and Rika. It would be weird if they like… were okay with incest but not explicit yuri. I'm not super excited for this route, but I wanna get hourglasses to get into deep story so. Yeah. Plus I'm a filthy completionist I gotta know how all the routes go.

- Zen. I already mentioned that I don't really like him all that much. For an up and coming actor he's kind of a pathetic loser (not in the hot way) and again, his constant flirting is a bit uncomfortable. Rn I'm planning on getting his good end and then immediately getting the bad ends for all the casual stories in reverse order, so that should be fun. Apparently some of the bad ends are like, unhinged? Very exciting. Anyways hated letting Jaehee hang out with him and hated having to fangirl about how 'hot his abs are' to her too. Its always rough not personally being into the designated hot character ;-;

- I feel like I've already talked enough about Jumin, but yeah. I get that his treatment of Jaehee partially seems to stem from a lack of empathy and his fear of his dad 'stealing another assistant'. I don't really get his deal with V, I'm guessing I'm not supposed to get it yet, though.

- 707, he's the character that first interest me in the game, so I definitely can't wait to learn more about him!!!! From one crossdresser to another yaknow. He's kind of silly kind of cool. I feel like they knew he would be popular lol. I will say though, he's a little hard to avoid getting hearts for, ditto with Zen. Can never tell what the 'right answer' is.

- V! I don’t think we're allowed to know shit about him yet. His attractiveness seems to change per cg/sprite lol.

- I'm also surprised Ray hasn't come up yet??? He shows up in the albums so I assumed they'd at least reveal his sprite in the casual story routes. It's not like. A massive mystery it's easy enough to figure out???